Politics in Canada is Almost Irreparably Broken

It gives me no pleasure to say any of this but I am going to do it anyway, because this is the utter and absolute truth about politics in Canada. 

The Conservative Party, whether Federal or Provincial, cannot be trusted. 

The Liberal Party, whether Federal or Provincial, cannot be trusted. 

The New Democrats, whether Federal or Provincial, cannot be trusted. 

There is not a single politician or a single political party that can be trusted with managing the affairs of Canada. 

The reasons why are simple.

All political parties are equally corrupt.

All political parties are equally morally bankrupt.

All politicians are captives of their party’s ideology.

And they all play from the same dog-eared book of dirty tricks and below-the-belt punches.

Every. Single. One. Of. Them.

Neither our parties nor our duly elected representatives are capable of looking beyond their own tired ideologies and think outside the box to find real solutions to the legion of real and tangible problems that Canada faces as a nation. They’ve demonstrated this by continuing to fight the wrong battles. 

Left vs Right is the wrong battle. 

Conservative vs Liberal is the wrong battle. 

Conservative vs Progressive is the wrong battle. 

Liberal vs Progressive is the wrong battle. 

Globalist vs Nationalist is the wrong battle. 

Nationalist vs Separatist is the wrong battle. 

So, what’s the solution? What battles should we be fighting and how should we be fighting them?

I don’t know yet. My thoughts on the matter continue to be a work in progress. I just know that we have problems, and that we won’t solve any of those problems with our politics the way they are now. And all the electoral reform in the world isn’t going to change that. 

This is what 150 years of relentless partisan politics has gotten us. 

And we’re not alone. The United Kingdom is in the same boat, as is the United States. And so are dozens of other countries across the entire world. 

All of us are equally fucked. And we all have no one to blame but ourselves.

About mtyzuk

Who is I? I is me. I think. I know there used to be a me. I may have had it surgically removed.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment