On Social and Political Regression

Everything I write in this blog is a point of view.

It is not my intention to recruit anyone to my particular ideology or point of view. It is not my intention to tell people what they should and should not think, what they should and should not believe.

I am a writer, not a preacher.

All I really want is for people to think, and to recognize that religion, ideology, and philosophy are but the beginning of wisdom, not the end. There is no religion, ideology, or philosophy that renders inert the inherent responsibility to think and reason for yourself, and anyone who tells you there is is lying to you.

I want you to ask questions, and to not rest until you have the answers.

Please remember that when you read this blog.

* * *

I do not always recognize the world in which I live, and I sometimes question whether or not there is a place for me in such a world.

I will freely admit that at least some of this point of view is due to more than thirty years of depression. Sadly, a great deal of it is not.

It is a fact that there has been a startling regression not only in the affairs of the world in general but also in the political and social affairs of our nation.

Hyper-partisanship runs rampant. Our politicians seem more and more interested in insulting and belittling each other than they are in actually doing their fucking jobs.The conservatives openly hate the liberals and progressives. The liberals claim to be progressives but play from the conservative play-book as often as not. And the progressives wish that the liberals would grow up and that the conservatives would get on with the business of dying because it would really make the world a better place.

More than any other time during my almost 45 years of life we focus on things that divide us. We’re obsessed with people’s ethnic heritage, the color of their skin, their biological gender, their gender identity.

I don’t know about anyone else, but when I was growing up I was taught that such considerations were meaningless in that they had nothing whatsoever to do with a persons validity and overall worth. It’s a point of view that I still carry with me to this day. And while I freely admit that I am far from perfect, I do make a concerted effort on each and every day to remember that we’re all just folk.

I do not look at someone and automatically see the color of their skin. I see a person, and I try to treat them as such.

I do not look at someone and automatically see their ethnic heritage. I see a person, and I try to treat them as such.

I do not look at someone and automatically see their biological gender. I see a person, and I try to treat them as such.

I do not look at someone and see their gender identity, or how they express that identity. I see a person, and I try to treat them as such.

I do not look at someone and see their mental illness. I see a person, and I try to treat them as such.

I do not look at someone and see the religion they practice. I see a person, and I try to treat them as such.

I am a moderate conservative with a libertarian bent.

I do not hate more devout conservatives. I have no reason to. We simply see the world through different eyes.

I do not hate liberals. I have no reason to. We simply see the world through different eyes.

I do not hate progressives. I have no reason to. We simply see the world through different eyes.

I do not hate more devout libertarians. I have no reason to. We simply see the world through different eyes.

This does not stop me from being critical of someone’s world view, or their opinions, or how they express those opinions. But when criticizing someone I attack that world view, or that opinion, or how that opinion is expressed.

I do not and will not attack the person. Ever. Under any circumstances. But I can and will disagree with them.

I do not and will not attack a person for their biological gender or their gender identity, or how they express that identity. Ever. Under any circumstances. But I can and will disagree with them.

Regardless of how I feel about a person I will always endeavor to speak to and interact with them in a manner that is polite and as respectful as I can manage at that given time. 

None of this makes me a saint.

I am flawed.

I am imperfect.

I am fallible.

I am a product of the life I have lead and the experience that I have gained throughout that life. Sometimes that experience is positive. Sometimes, not so much.

I am folk.

All of us are folk.

And maybe, just maybe, instead of focusing on all of the things that divide us we should focus on all of the things that make us better human beings.

And maybe, just maybe, all of us could stop being dicks for one moment and see what happens as a result.

About mtyzuk

Who is I? I is me. I think. I know there used to be a me. I may have had it surgically removed.
This entry was posted in Canadian Politics, Politics, Societal Changes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

