Canadian Identity & The Moderate Conservative Code

During one of his first public statements after being elected as Prime Minister, The Honorable Justin Trudeau famously declared that Canada is the first Post-Nation Nation because we had no coherent national identity of our own and our identity was defined by our diversity.

Excrement.

Our identity is not defined by our diversity. Our identity is defined not only by the actions of average everyday Canadians, but also by the actions of those who we elect to represent us at home and abroad. The problem is that this identity changes every time the government chances because our political parties can’t even agree on the color of shit.

I have made no secret of the fact that I am neither Progressive nor Liberal. I have also made no secret of the fact that because of my beliefs I do not fit in with those social conservatives and reformists who make up the majority of the support base for the Conservative Party of Canada. Feeling some need to attach some kind of label to my beliefs, for ease of description if nothing else, I have settled upon describing myself as a Moderate Conservative with a Libertarian bent.

As such I have taken it upon myself to develop a code of behavior for others such as myself, and anyone else who thinks that there are certain ideals that have value as part of our national identity, but have nothing whatsoever to do with our diversity.

Are you sitting comfortably? Then we’ll begin:

We are Canadian

We stand between the darkness and the light
We stand between the candle and the star

We seek only to live in peace
But we are not blind to the world in which we live

We are the friends and allies of freedom everywhere
But the guardians only of our own

Terror we will answer with steadfast resolve and measured force

And never will we bow down to fear

We are the champions of responsible civil liberty
And of true human rights

We shun ignorance and embrace knowledge

We are kind of heart and generous of spirit

We comport ourselves with quiet dignity
And overwhelming reverence for the majesty around us

We are prudent in thought and in action

We are frugal of coin, but conscious of quality

We are self-reliant and self-sufficient
But conscious of the community to which we belong

We are the heart and soul of the modern world
Seeking not to stop the engines of progress
But to slow the pace in order to ensure equity of outcome for all

We are moderate

We are conservative

Above all we are Canadian

About mtyzuk

Who is I? I is me. I think. I know there used to be a me. I may have had it surgically removed.
This entry was posted in Canadian Politics, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

